login   |    register
AK Interactive [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

Tool Review
11
Paint Brushes
  • move

by: Sal [ LTB073 ]


Originally published on:
Armorama

introduction

AK Interactive USA offers a wide variety of useful products that help model makers create models that appear the most realistic as possible. Products include items such as books, DVDs, painting, weathering and color modulation sets as well as a wide variety of detailing bits and pieces. The AK Interactive website claims that all of their products are of the highest quality and are the most current and innovative technology in the world. The home page of their website also promotes their newest product; Brush Set.

the brushes

All of their brushes are packaged in individual re-sealable plastic package with a cardboard insert. Additionally all of the round brushes have a small plastic sleeve protecting the bristles. Upon opening a brush the first thing that I noticed was that the brush handle is a substantial piece of orange colored wood that is approximately 2cm longer than your average craft store brush.

The brush size is clearly marked in black on the wooden handle. The bristles are made of a light orange synthetic material that is sort of stiff and takes a little bit to soften up. The AK website states that this is a high quality synthetic material that is suitable for all types of model paints and products.

conclusion

The brushes are offered in 8 different round sizes ranging from 5/0 to 8 and 4 flat brushes in sizes 2 thru 8. The price range of the brushes is between $2.45 for the smallest round brush up to $3.00 for the largest flat brush.
SUMMARY
Highs: Suitable for all types of paint and products.
Lows: Brush tip seems a little wide.
Verdict: Seems like a good product.
Percentage Rating
95%
  Scale: 1:1
  Suggested Retail: $2.45- $3.00
  Related Link: AKUSA item page
  PUBLISHED: Jul 28, 2012
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 90.36%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 91.28%

Our Thanks to AK Interactive USA!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.

View This Item   View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

About Sal (ltb073)
FROM: NEW YORK, UNITED STATES

As a child I built mostly autos and truck models and what ever came from the Revell Model of the month club. Later on I switched to military planes in jr. high school. When I started to work several jobs and didn't have the time to build. I completely left the hobby around 1982. In 2008 I got back ...

Copyright 2017 text by Sal [ LTB073 ]. Images also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of TankRat's. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

Looking forward to seeing the results Sal!
JUL 29, 2012 - 12:57 AM
Just a quick update here to answer Darrens questions. I use the #2 round brush with Model Masters Acrylic Paints both the Black and the Leather that covers the seats. Ihad some mixed results as the Leather color required a 2nd coat to get it where it is but no problem with the black tb073/?action=view&current=P1060640.jpg" target="_blank">Photobucket Clean up was with plain water and not a problem as the paint was not drawn more then halfway into the bristles
JUL 31, 2012 - 07:41 AM
Hi Sal Looking at your spray pattern on the cammo you need to thin your paints more before airbrushing, there is a lot of splatter going on there. or up the air pressure to get better atomisation. Paul
AUG 01, 2012 - 05:55 AM
This is an interesting review. I don't think I've ever seen a review of a paintbrush on Armorama before. I do think there is a place here for such reviews but it would be a better and more useful review if you had tried the brushes out and included the results in your review. Without trying them out all it is is a description of what the paintbrushes look and feel like which is not much use to any prospective buyer. Do you feel the longer handle gives the AK brushes an advantage over other brushes? Having used the #2 round brush do you still think the brush tip was a little wide?
AUG 01, 2012 - 06:57 PM
Thank you for the information Sal, regards reviewing paint brushes I am glad it was not me as I would have been a little lost on where to start.
AUG 01, 2012 - 07:36 PM
Hi Pat, just reviewing what was sent to me I feel that the longer handle gives the brush a more balanced feel in the hand and I liked that, but with that said I tried the 3/0 brush today on some PzIV road wheels rubber and didn't like the way the oversized tip reacted. I was not pleased at all with the way the bristles fanned out and didn't stay in a tight point I may repaint them and start over with my old brush
AUG 04, 2012 - 11:45 PM
Sal, that's all great information but I think it should be in the body of the review, not in the follow up. Otherwise, as I said it's just a description of what the paintbrushes look like. I know that for armor models and figures we get first look reviews (I've done them myself) but I don't think that approach is useful for tools.
AUG 05, 2012 - 04:57 AM
I have a set of these AK brushes and first, they are an excellent value. Although being low priced, they are of high quality, and compare very well against my Winsor & Newton Series 7 brushes! The AK brushes are synthetic and can be used with oil, enamel, or acrylic mediums. The bristles are surprisingly soft but hold their shape perfectly. Brush painting acrylics, they leave no brush marks. The brushes hold a paint load well, without paint migrating into the ferrule. The round brushes hold their point with a paint load, are easy to control, and highly accurate. Paint goes right where you intend to put it and fine lines can be achieved with ease. The brushes clean easily and completely, maintaining their new appearance and holding their shape. The long handles make for a well balanced brush in your hand and easy identification in your brush stand. I've been using only these brushes for the past week to put them through their paces and see how good they are and I have to say I am impressed and pleased with the AK Interactive brushes.
AUG 06, 2012 - 01:24 AM
In all honesty, its quite hard to review a paint brush as it would be with most tools. We all have preferences, whether it be bias or what we are used to/have experience of. Holding a big load is not a preference for me ... I use quality brushes for the finer details and spray the rest. I like a brush that holds sufficient for the small area Im working on, but I do like a brush to keep its point and shape while painting. There are too many factors to take into account between different modellers to fully comprehend what works for each of us. Saying that ... between what Sal and Matt have said, Id be curious enough to pick one of these up and try for myself. I do agree with Pat as well ... this follow up information should be included in the review for Sal. It would even be a good idea for Matt to send in his own reveiw. Different opinions are always helpful.
AUG 06, 2012 - 08:29 AM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   
What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move