login   |    register
AFV Club [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

First Look Review
135
Valentine Mk.I
British Infantry Tank Mk.III - Valentine Mk.I
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]


Originally published on:
Armorama

We have a sneak-peek at the upcoming release of AFV Club's new Valentine Mk.I tank. These are photos of TEST-SHOTS, not the final production kit. This kit came sans box, decals, barrel, etc.The kit will include vinyl tracks, but separate individual track links will be available for the kit as well.

The kit has some very nice detail. Note the picture of the side hull for example. The expected release date of this kit is sometime this summer. We look forward to doing a more complete review when the final production kit is released.
SUMMARY
AFV Club has sent us test shots of their new Valentine Mk.I kit. This kit is still a ways off from full production, but we have sought (and gotten) their permission to show you the test shot photos.
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: AF35178
  Related Link: 
  PUBLISHED: Mar 29, 2011
  NATIONALITY: United Kingdom
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.91%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 89.65%

Our Thanks to AFV Club!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.
View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright 2017 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. Images also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of TankRat's. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

This is going to be interesting to compare to the MiniArt Valentine's, I'm looking forward to seeing the full review on the finalized kit
MAR 29, 2011 - 01:50 AM
Looks like that's the one to get. The level of detail is very nice - just look at those springs!
MAR 29, 2011 - 06:20 AM
Thanks for this review.. Looks like a great kit! I think those plastic springs will raise the bar and set new standards for future kits that have springs in the chassis and such. Other manufacturers should take note of this. Hisham
MAR 29, 2011 - 06:58 AM
This is one that I've been waiting on! Now under the operating assumption that no kit is perfect, the real question will be what are the areas where the AFV kit is an improvement over the Miniart kit? I'm sure the AFV kit will have some short-comings, too, but when coupled to the areas that are better than the Miniart kit, will these short-comings hold the AFV kit back from being the overall better of the two, or will it come out on top overall? At one time, AFV had that nice little animated clip on their website showing the working suspension, and ability to articulate the kit's suspension would be nice. However, Miniart already has an edge with their partial interiors.... A full-up comparision review, in the style of PMMS, is definitely in order as soon as AFV releases this one. Hmmm... maybe a kit-bash combining the best of the two kit kits is in my future...?
MAR 29, 2011 - 08:57 AM
Hi The MD of afv club and my self measured the tank museums valentine andc in depth and i done alot of work on measureing it. from what i have seen of the kit its spot on . ossie
MAR 29, 2011 - 02:28 PM
The detail on the kit looks beautiful, especially the top of the turret. This should build up into a grand kit. Do we know if they will do a range of vehicles? MiniArt probably has the jump on them at the moment, partial interior and engine access and transmission in their Mk I. They also have the option of easily adding a couple of crew figuers if they wanted. As to which kit is best well time will tell. Al
MAR 29, 2011 - 03:16 PM
Looks Good! I hope there wil be a russian lend/ lease variant too...
MAR 30, 2011 - 06:12 AM
Well it looks nice, incredible nice indeed I usually love AFV products BUT...although I've read that AFV vinyl tracks are quite good, Miniart gives singular track links More of them, Miniarts kit has PE parts in the box, partial interior,engine access, transmission ,crew and a wide range of versions Of course, to judge in a right way we have to wait the AFV final release and we should compare the kits But it seems to me that MA kit is a little bit better I don't know anything about the prices Just my opinion regards
APR 07, 2011 - 04:58 AM
I have heard the Mini Art has road wheels that are too small. Mayhaps these will be correct. One issue - is it too late to do something with the machine guns? They look AWFUL! I have 1/48 guns that look better than those. Ecch. Definitely not up to par with some of the other kit parts. Turret and suspension parts look really nice. Scott
APR 25, 2011 - 01:09 PM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   
What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move