login   |    register
Trumpeter [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

In-Box Review
Video Review included
T-10M Heavy Tank
Soviet T-10M Heavy Tank
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]


Originally published on:
Armorama

SUMMARY
Jim takes a look at this recent release from Trumpeter, the T-10M Soviet heavy tank in 1/35 scale. Includes end-to-end individual track links, photo-etch, marking options for three versions.
  Scale: N/A
  Mfg. ID: 05546
  Suggested Retail: $55
  Related Link: 
  PUBLISHED: May 23, 2016
  NATIONALITY: Russia
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.91%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 84.63%

Our Thanks to Stevens International!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.
View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright 2017 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. Images also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of TankRat's. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

I play World of Tanks and am happy to see kits like these. Any company that produces high quality kits that can represent the historical or game version is a champion.
MAY 24, 2016 - 02:24 AM
Hi, Jacques! "Kirov" you are mentioning is not a plant in a city Kirov, but Kirov Plant in Leningrad (Ленинградский Кировский Завод) :-) So it would be more correct to say that T-10 was produced in Leningrad and Chelyabinsk rather than "Kirov and Chelyabinsk".
MAY 24, 2016 - 02:44 AM
there is a wrong number of ribs on the front mud flaps in that kit. also no rain water channel at the rear of the turret and 4 small smoke drums were not present on vehicles from 1968, Danube operation.
MAY 24, 2016 - 03:06 AM
Hey Dmitry, I often hear it presented as Kirov rather than Leningrad maybe because of the design bureau being the source of the problem in the dispute rather than the production facility? Because Kirov's factory was relocated to Chelyabinsk, and then removed and reformed later? It can be confusing, so I often just refer to them as Kirov and Chelyabinsk in regards specifically to the T-10 tank saga.
MAY 24, 2016 - 06:34 AM
Plants are/were located in Leningrad (Leningrad Kirov Plant Ленинградский Кировский Завод) and in Chelyabinsk (Chelyabinsk Tractor Plant Челябинский Тракторный Завод). The latter partly being a child of production relocation during WWII. The tank design bureau is from Leningrad Kirov Plant. It was relocated during WWII together with the plant, but then returned home forming Leningrad's clan ( or school say as You like ;-) of tank design. It is being referred to as Kirov's bureau but it has it's name after Kirov Plant and has nothing in common with the city of Kirov (former Vyatka).
MAY 24, 2016 - 07:47 AM
Factory No. 100 or Factory No. 185? Much to get confused about. Pesky Russian History.
MAY 24, 2016 - 12:11 PM
In short: Factory №100 was a design-test plant in Chelyabinsk - one of many forming "Tankograd". Factory №185 was one of design-test plants initially formed in Leningrad and then moved to Omsk during WWII (It was not a part of Leningrad Kirov Plant though for some time it was named after Kirov too " Leningrad Factory of Experimental Engineering №185 name of S.Kirov" (Ленинградский завод опытного машиностроения №185 им С.Кирова) 8-) ). Design of T-10 initially was made in Factory №100 in Chelyabinsk. T-10 were produced in Chelyabinsk Tractor Plant and later since 1953 IIRC in Kirov Plant in Leningrad To exclude confusion - Leningrad Kirov Plant was an industrial giant since XIX century. Before the death of Kirov it had another name: Putilov's Factory. It never had any "number". That's in short :-)
MAY 24, 2016 - 10:20 PM
Dmitry, do you think we have completely confused our fellow readers yet? Ultimately, I think the big takeaway from this is that internal Soviet tank design/production politics were VERY serious that, in this case, lead to some problematic production issues. And there is still more info coming out about the entire design and production story. This tale is only in the middle of its telling.
MAY 25, 2016 - 02:16 AM
Let's point out that not every single T-10M had the "rain water channel" attached... There are some good pics of vehicles in parades with and without the rail. But I must say that almost all references I've seen of the T-10M during Operation Danube had it, together with different combinations of smoke and fuel drums. Easy to fix, anyway
MAY 25, 2016 - 09:35 AM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   
What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move