login   |    register
Verlinden Productions [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

First Look Review
Video Review included
11
F-16 Control Stick
F-16 Control Stick - 1:1 Scale
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]


Originally published on:
AeroScale

SUMMARY
Highs: Watch video.
Lows: Watch video.
Verdict: Watch video.
  Scale: 1:1
  Mfg. ID: 2804
  Suggested Retail: $84.95 USD
  Related Link: 
  PUBLISHED: Jul 30, 2015
  NATIONALITY: United States
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.91%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 76.32%

Our Thanks to Verlinden Productions!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.

View This Item   View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright 2017 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. Images also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of TankRat's. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

Hi Keith You sound like absolutely the most qualified person to review the kit! (Even though it might bring back too many memories for comfort...) All the best Rowan
AUG 12, 2015 - 08:03 AM
Rowan, Perhaps not...I'm either getting old, losing it, or both. I got to thinking about it, and there was a later version with yet another added switch, this one positioned on the left side protruding at an angle whereto the pilot's thumb could rest on it and manipulate the button. So this kit version must be a slightly older Block 25/30. Mere curiosity: but how does one go about throwing their hat in the ring to do a review, and then obtaining a kit? Keith
AUG 13, 2015 - 04:31 PM
Hi Keith It's really as simple as just asking. Any Kitmaker member can be a reviewer - and we always encourage fresh talent - but the best way to make sure you're in with a reasonable chance of getting a sample kit for review is to write a few reviews of things you've bought first. That way, Staffers can judge your writing style and if you can provide suitable photos etc. I'd also suggest to any new reviewer to keep requests modest until you've established a reputation for reliability. All the best Rowan
AUG 16, 2015 - 01:57 AM
Interesting. I own a Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS which is an exact replica of a Block 52 stick and throttle. Unlike the Verlinden kit, I can use mine while flying SEAD missions over Iran with Open Falcon 4.7 on my PC.
AUG 31, 2015 - 03:29 PM
It seems that this item has been around for at least two years. But hey, if I haven't heard about it before, it's news to me.
SEP 02, 2015 - 09:38 AM
That HOTAS setup would come in handy for Falcon 4.0!
SEP 06, 2015 - 11:22 AM
To further hijack this thread--I have a real F-16 throttle grip...as part of a going plaque. As well as a -16 WAC HUD DU combiner glass. Too bad someone went and ruined it with that etching. Keith
SEP 06, 2015 - 11:31 AM
Gilman Louie and his development team were geniuses. This is a 17 year old flight sim which was way ahead of its time in 1998. To date, no other flight sim has come remotely close to even equaling it. No game/sim designers have anything that approaches the dynamic campaign engine used in F4. There are activities, independent of what you are doing within the game bubble, but, all have an effect on the outcome of a campaign/mission. Nothing is preset; and, that is the beauty of it. Random actions combining together to create a realistic outcome. Download and add Open Falcon 4.7 ( Free Falcon 5 is also good) to the original Microprose Falcon 4.0. The realism is unbelievable. Everything in the cockpit works, putting all of the HOTAS controls to good use. The learning curve is pretty steep, especially if you opt for a by the book cold startup. If you use F4Browse and tacedit, you can really go to town modifying weapons loads and mission parameters. Ever wonder what airburst from a B-61 nuke dropped from a Viper looks like?
SEP 13, 2015 - 07:29 PM
Super niiiiiiiice! To bad about the etched HUD glass, though.
SEP 13, 2015 - 07:35 PM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   
What's Your Opinion?