login   |    register
Zvezda [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

First Look Review
Video Review included
135
BMPT Terminator
Terminator Russian Fire Support Combat Vehicle
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]


Originally published on:
Armorama

SUMMARY
Highs: Some incredible detail and excellent production quality.
Lows: Not sure about the molded track in segments. Jury still out on that.
Verdict: This AFV has some amazing design elements that should translate into a really attractive kit.
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: 3636
  Suggested Retail: $45
  Related Link: 
  PUBLISHED: Apr 17, 2015
  NATIONALITY: Russia
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.91%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 82.67%

Our Thanks to Zvezda!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.

View This Item   View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright 2017 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. Images also by copyright holder unless otherwise noted. Opinions expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of TankRat's. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

So.. is it a worthy alternative to the Meng version?
APR 17, 2015 - 11:27 PM
I dont think so. Meng tracks are superior and I really dislike the Zvezda wheels (I own the t-90 kit). Meng is hard to beat these days.
APR 18, 2015 - 04:41 AM
Hi; Well I Dought if it will have some of the Finer Details of the Meng kit, its still looks like A nice kit and should be well worth the Money. Its going to be Interesting to see what the AM groups come out for this kit. CHEERS; MIKE.
APR 18, 2015 - 04:49 AM
I was ready to buy it as a cheap alternative to Meng's one. But today I bought the T-72B with Kontakt-1 made by Trumpeter. If this is the level they intend to keep - I'll go for their Terminator eventually.
APR 18, 2015 - 05:46 AM
Well honestly Zvezda's track system seems to be only a little worse as Meng's to me, as while the latter is more detail it does seem slightly over-engineered when 40% of the run will be obscured with the side plates. And most armour kits will have a least one set of AM wheel avalible form it.
APR 18, 2015 - 06:07 AM
If this really has the same lower hull as their T-90 then that is it's biggest flaw. Their T-90 rides too high, track angle from idler to wheel is too steep, side skirts too wide, turret too small. Just looked odd when constructed, which was a shame because quality wise it was a really nice kit at a decent price. So if Zvezda haven't correct this then :/
APR 22, 2015 - 09:06 AM
Building this kit now. Unfortunately, it is all molded in OD green, so the detail won't pop until I build and prime it. So far, this is one of the most detailed kits I've ever built OOB. It's a blast. The turret is crazy-detailed, but it's a blast.
JUL 21, 2015 - 02:01 AM
What Eoin says. Regards, Andy
JUL 21, 2015 - 09:26 AM
Thanks to Jim for the review! To be honest,I do not see the amount of nice nor incredible detail some people mentioned. Tha close up pictures show some rough finishing and a number of parts on the "gross" side, Its undoubtly a big step forward for the usual/previous Zvezda quality, but not that better than their T-90 and keeping the same mistakes of this kit, and still far from other manufacturer's current standards -let's say Meng or Bronco- I cannot see this one as a real competitor for Meng's Terminator, even with a lower orice. OK, it might be a fair choice for modellers wishing to have a Terminator within a budget, but not in my particular case. Of course, this is just my personal opinion, but that's why I really thank for this review.
JUL 21, 2015 - 12:24 PM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   
What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move